top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeeor

our will to survive

*I'm aware this post may push a lot of buttons for certain people, but I do feel the need to press those buttons sometimes, because it makes people think. I do not mean to offend anyone, and I do not believe what I say is an absolute truth. It is my point of view, and I am very open for discussions*


Our will to survive is so strong, and sometimes you don't need a life threatening scenario to understand it. We are past proper survival mode, we have no need to hunt or hide from the elements. Our survival is a lot more shallow than that, but it is also survival. Being a part of the generation that grew on the cusp of the technological revolution is very confusing.

I see a lot of people that happily accepted the change, but I see a lot of people like me that are kinda old fashioned in a way, that look at the 90's and think how great were those simpler times, how freeing it was not to rely so heavily on a little beeping device, and want to preserve that. My biggest fear with this revolution is the loss of human emotions. But no matter how hard you try to resist the wheel keeps on moving forward.

If you want to survive you have to bend a knee to your enemy and take on it's leadership. Most people have facebook, some still resist it, and you never see them in all the events, they are not very good in keeping in touch with people in different countries and they soon fade away. Because facebook is the future (well, the present for quite a while) of our social survival. And so as all the other social networks, that I have yet to venture on upon.

While in Japan, I went through a massive crisis with technology. Everything there was so robotic, and I refused to believe this is where I might be heading, I was so tempted to close my facebook account and throw my smartphone in the river. But I didn't, because I wouldn't be able to find my way in Japan without google. And I didn't close my facebook account because I realized this would literally means social suicide. As I'm a nomad that is pretty much my only way to keep in touch with people all over the world.

The other aspect is the financial. It's been the talk of town for months and months now- the bitcoin revolution, that I was extremely against in the beginning, because it looked like a financial bubble that's very close to explosion. But then I realized that unlike the other bubbles of before, this is just a part of the monetary evolution. Once we used to trade grains, then gold, then cotton paper, and the next evolution is air. An absolute nothing will still determine how big of a house you can rent, what clothes would you can buy. It will say who gets to sleep in a fancy house with bodyguards and who gets to lay in the gutter and pray to find food tomorrow (which is sadly the majority). It isn't revolutionary, it's evolutionary, it's just easier than printing money. And the wave towards it is so big, everyone has started to believe in this new story of valuing that if you don't get on the train you might find yourself with a million paper bills in your hand but they will mean nothing.

Sadly though, I do not believe it is going to save the world like I heard a lot of people saying, because it is the same system just with a different name. Until people will stop believing that a certain number reflects who they are, how good they are, what they are worth, nothing is going to change much, just maybe dress in different colors.


But this is our test, how much we would like to survive. Are we more attached to life, or more attached to humanity.

If we are more attached to life we will endure the changes no matter the cost, whether it means our social life are now on the screens and not actually face to face encounters, or that we will no longer get to hold our "value" but instead get further away from it and have less control of it because it's only numbers on the computer.

if we are more attached to humanity, then we are at a loss. The machine is stronger, it is undeniable. We can sit and reminisce about the past, but we can't go back to it.

so we can either choose to stay human, and give up life, because in the evolutionary world only the strongest, fittest and most adaptable will survive. Or we can choose life, and realize that the price of it is losing what we have known as humanity.

"Brave new world" scenario. If you haven't read it yet, you should.




130 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentarios


Leeor
Leeor
10 ene 2018

The concept of life to me means to be alive no matter in what form,even if it means giving up a lot of what it is to be a human. Im not against the technological revolution, like every revolution we had before it will bring us good stuff and bad stuff. But like in the past when we stopped being hunters and gatherers and lost our amazing nature understanding skills for comfort and longer life spans, this time we seem to sacrifice our emotions for progress.

Me gusta

דר' יורם רסלר
דר' יורם רסלר
08 ene 2018

Hi Leeori. I read the post more than once, and I have to admit that I did not fully understand it. My problem is with the concepts of "life" and "humanity". Does life mean catching up with, and being part of the technological progress? Does humanity mean longing for the era /age of innocence or the loss of compassion/close human relation/anything else?

You know me as a rationalist, and as such I need to have a clear definition of words or concepts.

For me technical and scientific progress is not en evil. The difficulty of Homo sapiens to adjust his "emotional Intelligentsia" and his inner instincts to the progress the he himself created is the problem. Because, let us al…

Me gusta
bottom of page